While the FDA standard provides for natural flavors derived from either plant or animal sources, Elmhurst’s natural flavors are entirely plant-based. This is certified by our vegan label.
Now, what does being vegan mean? Technically, it is to not consume animal products – whether meat, milk, eggs, or other. Socially, it is a relatively small – but extremely committed – subset of an often carnivorous, barbequing nation. Stereotypically, it has sometimes been labeled fringy, extreme, or hippie. But not so much; not anymore.